BS OHSAS 18001

Note: BS OHSAS 18001 is to be superseded by ISO 45001

OHSAS 18001 is the International Standard (though not and ISO standard) that specifies the requirements for occupational health and safety management systems. It was developed by a selection of leading trade bodies, international standards and certification bodies to address a gap where no third-party certifiable international standard exists.

Many organizations are implementing an Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OHSMS) as part of their risk management strategy to address changing legislation and protect their workforce.

An OHSMS promotes a safe and healthy working environment by providing a framework that allows the organization to:

  • aid legislative compliance;
  • consistently control its health and safety risks;
  • consistently identify its health and safety risks;
  • improve overall performance.
  • reduce the potential for accidents;

OHSAS 18001 has been designed to be compatible with ISO 9001 and ISO 14001, to help any organization meet their health and safety obligations in an efficient manner.

OHSAS 18001 follows the Deming Cycle for continuous improvement;

The following key areas are addressed by OHSAS 18001:

  • consultation and communication;
  • emergency preparedness and response;
  • OHSAS management programme;
  • operational control;
  • performance measuring, monitoring and improvement;
  • planning for hazard identification;
  • risk assessment and risk control;
  • structure and responsibility;
  • training, awareness and competence.

OHSAS 18001 can be adopted by any organization wishing to implement a formal procedure to reduce the risks associated with health and safety in the working environment for employees, customers and the general public.

OHSAS 18001 can be purchased from the British Standards Institutive Shop (BSi)